Uncategorized

Audible Musings

As many of you may know, I am a fairly heavy audio book listener. I can enjoy books as I stock shelves at “the world’s largest reseller”. My wife and I will often buy extra audio credits on top of my monthly alotment.

I am frequently asked what I am listening to. So for all you curious folks out there here is a list of novels I have listened to in the last few months: Legion, Mistborn, The Well of Ascension, The Hero of Ages, The Alloy of Law, The Way of Kings, Elantris, The Emperor’s Soul, Warbreaker, and A Memory of Light, all of which where written by the awesome Fantasy Author Brandon Sanderson.

I have begun listening to the Shannara Series by Terry Brooks. I have almost finished The Sword of Shannara for the second time, and have The Elfstones of Shannara, The Wishsong of Shannara, and The First King of Shannara in my listening cue.

My wife, daughter, and I have been listening to Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians and Alcatraz Versus the Scrivener’s Bones, both by Brandon Sanderson. My daughter follows along with the printed copy as we all laugh in the car while running around doing errands or shopping. Funny, funny stuff.

We have also been listening to The Story by Zondervan, a simplified telling of the Bible, that puts the events of the Bible in chronological order.

The Stormlight Archives Book One: The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson, is one of best fantasy novels I have ever read. It is engrossing in a way few books are. In fact I have listened to this book several times, and at over 45 hours, and well over 900 pages, it still captivates me even for the sixth or seventh time. Unlike many novels, I feel engaged with the characters, especially Kaladin. I can understand him and his plight, and at many times I feel the same way.

The Mistborn Series, also by Sanderson, was amazing. I am astonished at the way he can make up believable magic systems. Every series is unique. The use of different metals as magic sources was fascinating. The original trilogy is superb, even making me say at the end of the second book, “He just pulled an Empire Strikes Back” which made me hurry to the third book for the continuation of the story. With that having been said however, The Alloy of Law, is by far my favorite of the series. The mixture of Wild West and 19th century society was a fast and furious ride when blended with magic.

I do keep putting off listening to The Third Reich at War, the third book in the fascinating trilogy by Richard J. Evans, about the German Third Reich. There is just so much information to absorb, and the content is just beyond words. War is brutal and bloody, not glorious. Everyone should listen (or read) some, if not all of these books.

Thanks for checking in to my little corner of the World Wide Web. More coming soon!

– Michael

Leave a comment